Library Of Congress Classification

The Library of Congress Classification (LCC) is a system of library classification developed by the Library of Congress. It was developed in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries to organize and arrange the book collections of the Library of Congress. Over the course of the twentieth century, the system was adopted for use by other libraries as well, especially large academic libraries in the United States. It is currently one of the most widely used library classification systems in the world.

A Brief Outline of Library of Congress Classification


LCC divides the entire field of knowledge into 21 main classes, each identified by a single capital letter of the alphabet


Each of the main classes, with the exception of E and F, is further divided into subclasses, which represent disciplines or major branches of the main class. Most subclasses are denoted by two letter, or occasionally three-letter combinations.

  • Detailed description of the classification systems is available from the Library of Congress

  • Finding Books Using the Library of Congress Classification


    1. Line 1: Books are shelved alphabetically by the first letter or letters.

    2. Line 2: Followed by numerically by the number following the letter(s).

    3. Line 3: Lastly alphabetically by the next letter and decimally by the following number.


    Contact Information:

    For more enquiries, please email